

## **Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy**

## **Minutes**

March 9, 2020

## Members present:

Rep. Jeff Brand

Sen. Rich Draheim

Sen. Kent Eken

Rep. Peter Fischer

Sen. Michael Goggin

Rep. Josh Heintzeman

Rep. Todd Lippert

Rep. Paul Torkelson

Sen. Bill Weber

Sen. Chuck Wiger

## Members excused:

Sen. Chris Eaton

Rep. John Poston

Sen. Weber called the meeting of the Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy to order at 6:01 p.m. in the basement hearing room of the State Office Building. A quorum was not present until 6:05 p.m..

Rep. Torkelson moved to approve Subcommittee Meeting Minutes from February 17, 2020. **Motion carried.** 

Jim Stark, Director of the Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy, provided information related to the Legislative Priorities and the status of bills.

Jason Moeckel, DNR addressed the water appropriation permit process at property transfer.

LeAnn Buck, Executive Director, State Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCD) presented information regarding SWCD funding and discussed funding options.

Jim Stark, Director of the Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy, provided an draft letter on the Wadena County petition.

Emily Javens, Association of Watershed Districts provided a presentation on Districts: Statutes and Governance Structure.

Ray Wuolo, Barr Engineering presented information regarding changing groundwater conditions and their impact on the metro area.

The Subcommittee on Minnesota Water policy has been invited to attend the CWC event on June 15, 2020. Additionally, The Water Susutainablility Conference will be held in Minneapolis March 29 through April 1, 2020.

The next meeting is scheduled for April 20, 2020. Schedules will be checked to determine if morning or evening works best.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.